Christ Stands For Me!

Where does [Christ] stand? He stands pro me. He stands there in my place, where I should stand, but cannot. He stands on the boundary of my existence, beyond my existence, yet for me. That brings out clearly that I am separated from my ‘I’, which I should be, by a boundary which I am unable to cross. The boundary lies between me and me, the old and the new ‘I’. It is in the encounter with this boundary that I shall be judged. At this place, I cannot stand alone. At this place stands Christ, between me and me, the old and the new existence. Thus Christ is at one and the same time, my boundary and my rediscovered centre. He is the centre, between ‘I’ and ‘I’, and between ‘I’ and God.

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Christ the Center

Leave a Reply

